With iOS 16, Apple adds the “Unsend” feature to the Mail app; see the detailed instructions

The vast majority of email clients allow you to ‘unsend’ a message within a short window of time after you’ve sent it, preventing it from being delivered to the recipient’s inbox.

After years of requests, Apple has added this function to the iPhone’s built-in Mail app. iOS 16 brings numerous welcome changes to the Mail app. One of the new functions is the capability to halt email transmission after the send button has been activated. After an email has been sent, Mail now gives you 10 seconds to cancel the send if you realise you made a mistake.

Simply put, an unsent email is one that has been returned to the draughts folder before being sent. Comparable to Gmail’s “Undo Send” function, which allows you to recall an email before it is sent. Emails can be rescinded only by those running Mac OS Monterey or later or iOS 16 on an iPhone or iPad. Also, the recipient’s device type makes no difference.

How to Delete an Already Sent Email:

  • Launch the iPhone’s Mail app on iOS 16
  • After you’ve sent an email, quickly scan the bottom of your screen.
  • Choose “Undo Send,” which will be available for only 10 seconds after an email has been sent. Dependent on your connection speed, the time could be shorter or longer.
  • There will be another copy of the draught email. To cancel the message without sending it, click the “Cancel” button in the upper left.
  • You can double-check that the email was successfully sent by visiting the “Sent” folder.

You can buy yourself more time to reconsider sending that email to that person by extending the delay.

Time-shifting instructions:

  • Open your iPhone’s “Settings” menu.
  • Select “Mail” from the drop-down menu.
  • Select “Undo Send Delay” from the drop-down menu in the following window.
  • Alternate duration options of 10, 20, and 30 seconds will be made available.