Last Seen: WhatsApp Updates Privacy Settings

What’s the Latest? WhatsApp has quietly introduced a new feature that attempts to make it harder for strangers to view your “Last seen” and internet presence on the app. By default, WhatsApp’s “Last seen” privacy option is changed to “My Contacts” on the best Android phones and iPhones.

Itโ€™s a new security feature. Got this reply from support today. If the person has not got your number in their contacts, or you havenโ€™t sent one message between you, last seen/online is no longer visible. pic.twitter.com/qLPtC6rPOA

โ€” PsyColette ๐ŸŽ…๐Ÿป๐ŸŽ„ (@NiHaolain) December 7, 2021

The privacy option has been set to “Everyone” by default until now, which gave third parties permission to develop applications that allowed users to log the status of their contacts’ last seen and online. It’s a month since WhatsApp debuted the ability to hide their online presence, “Last seen” information, and profile pictures from particular people in beta. The new privacy setting is anticipated to become available to everyone shortly.

WhatsApp has added additional settings for its disappearing messages feature this month. Users may now pick a duration of 24 hours, 7 days, or 90 days to have their communications vanished. The option to have conversations vanish after seven days was originally accessible only to users.

The ability to have disappearing messages turned on for new group chats is another one of WhatsApp’s modifications. Because the option only appears when you create a new group, it does not apply to existing groups.

However, the “view once” aspect of the app is still limited to photos and videos. WhatsApp also doesn’t advise users when their recipient captures a screenshot or uses a screen recorder software to record the “view once” media.